Minutes of Playford's Annual Parish Meeting held at Playford Village Hall at 6.30pm on Wednesday, 8th May 2019

Present:	Mrs Joan Metcalfe - Chairman
	Mr Steven Hicks - Vice-Chairman
	Mr Tim Llewellyn - Councillor
	Mr Ted Herrington – Councillor
	Mr Adrian Melrose – Councillor (arrived 6.50pm)
	Mr Mike Brewer – Councillor
	Mr Robin Vickery – County Councillor
	Mr Colin Hedgley – District Councillor

In attendance:

Mrs Marian Hedgley - Clerk

Also present:

Mr Eric Metcalfe Mrs Veronica Bunbury Mrs Sally Herrington Ms Tracy Herrington

The meeting started at 6.30pm. Joan Metcalfe welcomed everyone and asked if anyone would like to take the chair. It was unanimously decided that Joan should take the chair, endorsed by a show of hands.

- 1. Apologies for Absence Mr Keith Carson – Councillor
- **2.** To approve the Minutes from the Meeting held on 2nd May 2018 Ted Herrington proposed acceptance of the minutes and this was seconded by Veronica Bunbury – these were duly signed by the Chairman as a true record.
- **3. Matters arising from the Minutes:** None

4. Chairman's Report

Joan began by thanking all councillors and the clerk for their support during the year and said that once again she was pleased to have kept the level of the Precept the same as that of the previous year, though this may have to increase next year if grass cutting costs increase.

Projects undertaken during the year included the installation of a debrillator near the entrance to the village hall, two "cyclepod" stands on the edge of the car park and planting a commemorative sapling oak tree to mark the 100th anniversary of the end of WW1. These were obtained with generous funding from Co Cllr Robin Vickery's and Dist Cllr Robert Whiting's Locality and Enabling Communities Budgets which was very much appreciated and the cyclepods were kindly installed by Dean Fulcher at no extra cost to the PC.

Signed

Joan expressed thanks to outgoing District Cllr Robert Whiting who previously served the old Fynn Valley ward and welcomed Colin Hedgley as Playford's new District Councillor jointly elected with Tony Fryatt to serve the new Carlford & Fynn Valley ward. She welcomed Mike Brewer who was co-opted on to the parish council in March, as an elected member of the council now that the elections have taken place.

The topics of grass cutting, deterioration of the verges, various problems with local footpaths and the availability of fibre broadband were discussed and the progress of Playford's Neighbourhood Plan. Joan also wished Adrian Melrose every success with the development of Hill Farm and the project of forming a trust to look after the Mere.

For details of the above in full please see report appended to these minutes.

5. County Councillors' report

Robin Vickery read out his Co. Councillor's report. He stated that he had been involved with the SCC Scrutiny committee and was a substitute for the Suffolk Police and Crime Panel and various other concerns in the county.

He was also involved with the commemoration of 100 years since the end of WW1 and had helped to organise several events across the county culminating in the Remembrance Day services in November.

He also stated that he has funds in his Locality Budget if the parish council needs financial help with any projects.

Please see full report appended to these minutes.

6. District Councillor's report

District Councillor Colin Hedgley started by explaining the thinking behind the recent ward changes in which he had played a part in shaping, and to say how the newly formed Carlford and Fynn Valley ward had come into existence. This will be served by two councillors, Tony Fryatt and himself. The parishes have been apportioned between them, Colin will be responsible for the southern ones i.e. Playford, both Bealings, Hasketon, Tuddenham, Grundisburgh & Culpho and Rushmere Village and Tony will look after the northern parishes, although they will cover for each other during absences and holidays.

He then read his report stating that SCDC which had been in existence for 25 years had now been wound up. The new East Suffolk Co. would hold its first meeting on 22nd May and Colin gave out the new telephone no. for East Suffolk Council 03330 162000 (local rates will apply).

Signed

Further subjects included details of a funding boost for Leiston Town Council, arrangements for the forthcoming European Parliamentary Elections and details of how to apply to vote for those not already registered and how to arrange for a postal or proxy vote.

Southwold Coastal Community Team has received a financial boost to help development of their projects and there are new beach huts for sale in Felixstowe.

Colin concluded by assuring the parish council that although there are now 19 parishes in the new ward, he and Tony Fryatt would make every effort so that one of them could attend at least part of every parish's scheduled meetings even if it was only for half an hour, bearing in mind that many PC's might be holding their meetings on the same day. At the very least, they would be sending in a report each time and their email addresses are given below:

Cllr Tony Fryatt <u>tony.fryatt@eastsuffolk.gov.uk</u> Cllr Colin Hedgley <u>colin.hedgley@eastsuffolk.gov.uk</u>

Colin & Robin both left to attend another meeting at Tuddenham.

Please see full report appended to these minutes.

7. Open Forum

Ted Herrington broached the subject of damage to grass verges in Church Lane – this is thought to have been caused by farm vehicles but there is no proof. SCC Highways seem unwilling to act and it was suggested that possibly the road could be closed to large vehicles to prevent these incidents occurring. Clerk to take this up with Robin Vickery to enquire whether this is feasible.

8. AOB – none

The meeting closed at 7pm

Signed

Chairman

A full copy of these minutes and Chairman's and County and District Councillors' reports can be viewed on the website: <u>www.playford.org.uk</u>